A magic world

The theme of my text/ Image project is magic. I believe most of you would easily combine the word magic with J.K Rowling’s fantasy novels Harry Potter. The following is the process of how I make my word cloud image.

I started with a picture of Hogwarts. This castle is a part of Hogwarts. Hogwarts is the center of magic so I chose it as the background.

 aaMG_9995-FINAL

Then I used magic wand tool in Photoshop to remove the blue sky, applied black color to the main castle and white to the background to make it as the base of word cloud.

 hogwarts1

Next I went to Tegxedo website, submitted a piece of introduction of Harry Potter from Wikipedia, loaded my castle base. The following word cloud came out after some revisions of font and color.

 hogwarts4

After I put the word cloud on the castle background, I found the words was not that conspicuous. So I tried some small steps to make up. First of all I reduced the opacity and filling percentage. Then I selected two main regions in the word cloud by lasso tool: Harry and Potter. And I created another layer and gave some layer effects to make it more conspicuous.

hogwarts2 hogwarts3

hogwarts new

 

So far it was done in some degree. However, I found there is some empty space in the sky so I wanted to add two characters to make it more like a magic world. Obviously the first one came to my mind was Harry Potter. The second privilege I finally gave to Dumbledore, headmaster of Hogwarts.

 Here was the original pictures of Harry Potter and Dumbledore.

Harry Potter Park 2009_07_10_92839526

 

 At last I selected the main parts of the two characters by quick selection tool in Photoshop and pasted them to the main plot. They were holding their wands over Hogwarts. So cool!

hogwarts word cloud

 

One thought on “A magic world

  1. Hey Cheng!

    Your theme of magic is great! I love Harry Potter, so I’m glad you chose to use it in your word-cloud project. I’m sure it took you a long time to make. Not sure if you did this on purpose, but I like how the names Harry Potter and Voldemort stand out so much compared to the rest. The juxtaposition of those two names are iconic in the novels/movies so I thought it was cool that it did the same on your word-cloud image.

    The magic wand tool is an amazing tool to use, but it can be a pain to get all the little colors. You did a great job, keep up the good work!

    Drew

Leave a comment